Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (2022)

Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews

Recent
  • Recent
  • Oldest
  • Most helpful

Any
  • Any
  • Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (1)
  • Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (2)
  • Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (3)
  • Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (4)
  • Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (5)

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Benjamin Moore Paints?

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Benjamin Moore Paints?

  • 3,981,701 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
  • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
  • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
  • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

For more information about reviews on ConsumerAffairs.com please visit our FAQ.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (6)

Tricia of Chapel Hill, NC Verified Reviewer

Original review: April 30, 2022

The flat paint marks with a light touch and the egg shell is gloppy and streaks. The painters we hired to do the entire interior of our house made us pay to change the paint even though they recommended this brand. Benjamin Moore refused to acknowledge that the paint was dysfunctional.

3 people found this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (7)

(Video) Benjamin Moore Paint Colors | TOP Interior Paint Colors

heather of Ferndale, MI Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer

Original review: Aug. 21, 2021

I recently paid $350 on Benjamin Moore paint. It is the first time I bought this paint as I normally use Sherwin-Williams but the store was closed and I was in a hurry to get the paint for the professional painters I had hired. They painted the ceiling and the trim with the paint and were very upset as it would glop and not spread evenly. It looked horrible and I had to run out and buy Sherwin-Williams paint to do the walls which turned out great. I had to pay extra to have them paint the ceiling and the trim again. I went to the store and let them know that there were issues with the paint and that I wanted my money back. They said the paint seemed fine and they could send it to be analyzed but only if I didn't post any bad reviews. Clearly they don't care about the quality of their paint if they will only send it for analysis if someone doesn't post a bad review. I will never again use this paint.

16 people found this review helpful

Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (8)

Steve of Ft. White, FL Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 7, 2021

When looking & buying paints, have a good idea what is needed & NEVER BUY CHEAP PAINTS. Cheap paints won't stand the weather & will require 2-3 coats. Get the ONE COAT PAINT, You will not be sorry!! SCW...

7 people found this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (9)

Trina of Burbank, CA Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 6, 2021

(Video) Interior Design Inspiration and Makeover with Sharon Grech | Benjamin Moore

This paint covers nearly all of the flaws on surfaces. It rolls on smoothly and easily. It's worth the extra cost and comes in many colors. I recently painted over a damaged surface with a Benjamin Moore light pastel over old dark red paint. It only took a few coats and now the walls look almost professionally done even though I'm an amateur. I highly recommend this paint.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (10)

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (11)

Tony of Washington, DC Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 5, 2021

I think Benjamin Moore paint is one of the best around if not the best. I got my whole family using Benjamin Moore paint. I love them. if you have not tried them now is the time. I am about to redo my house within the next 2 or 3 weeks.

5 people found this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (12)

Terry of Lake Stevens, WA Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 4, 2021

Great paint with good coverage. I've used it before on many interiors and exteriors and never had an issue. Excellent choice for all your painting needs. Very easy to use when brushing, rolling or spraying, easy clean up too!

4 people found this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (13)

(Video) Color Handbook: Light | Benjamin Moore

Rain of Spencer, MA Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 3, 2021

Growing up in my house we always used Benjamin moore paint for painting rooms. It always came out beautifully. I've never been disappointed with Benjamin moore paint. They have primer that covers grease. I was so happy to hear that before painting the kitchen. They also have a variety of great stains for furniture or woodwork, molding.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (14)

Sharon of Knoxville, TN Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 2, 2021

Great service and high quality paint. The only negative is that my local store used to custom-match color, but now they will only try to find something close within their color line. So instead, I go to ** - can still choose the Benjamin Moore brand, and true to their word, they mix the perfect color every time.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (15)

Claudine of Clarkston, Georgia Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 1, 2021

Great quality.. It not that running paint or watery.. You don't have to put on extra coding of paint to paint the wall.. The paint have that beautiful shine on that glossy. When you get that color it will be the right color.. They may should that you are happy and you get what you want in your color and paint.

(Video) Benjamin Moore paint review.

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (16)

Paula of New Castle, DE Verified Reviewer

Original review: Dec. 31, 2020

Paint colors are vibrant, provide great coverage and are awesome. Easy to paint with and makes the walls and overall house fresh and bright! Very happy with this paint and I know you will be also! Will be my go to paint from here on out!

Be the first one to find this review helpful

Loading more reviews...

Benjamin Moore Paints author review by Kate Williams, Ph.D.

A premium paint brand that manufactures its own resins and proprietary colorants for a unique, long-lasting product. It has always sold its paints through authorized independent retailers.

  • Available products: Benjamin Moore has one of the broadest selections of paint and stain types available. The company specializes in unique products like Aura® Bath and Spa Paint, a bathroom paint with a matte finish; eco-friendly options like Natura®; and specialty paints for front doors, vinyl siding and exterior trim.

  • In-store color matching: Benjamin Moore was the first company to offer color-matching services. You can bring in any sample color and have it matched by the company’s color experts. For instance, you can match your paint to your favorite sweater, a photo from a magazine or anything else you can dream up.

  • Paint recommendations: If you’re not sure which Benjamin Moore paint is best for your project, check out the product matcher on the company’s website. You just click which room or exterior surface you’re painting, and the matcher recommends the best product for the job. You can also search by color family or color collections.

  • Benjamin Moore paint colors: Use the innovative Color Capture app to quickly snap a pic of any object and find a color match suggestion among Benjamin Moore’s paints. The app works with iPhones and Androids.

  • Where to buy Benjamin Moore paint: Benjamin Moore products are available only at independently owned authorized retailers. Use the website’s store locator tool to find a retailer near you.

Top 174 Benjamin Moore Paints Reviews (17)

by Kate Williams, Ph.D. ConsumerAffairs Research Team

(Video) Choosing the Right Paint for your Walls | Benjamin Moore

As a member of the ConsumerAffairs Research Team, Kate Williams, Ph.D. believes everyone deserves easy access to accurate and comprehensive information on products and businesses before they make a purchase. She spends countless hours researching companies and industries before writing buyers guides to make sure consumers have all the information they need to make smart, informed buying decisions.

FAQs

What is Benjamin Moores highest quality paint? ›

Aura: This 100% acrylic paint is Benjamin Moore's best quality and most expensive line. It's scuff and mildew resistant, provides better coverage with fewer coats than other paints, and is available in thousands of colors.

Which Benjamin Moore paint is best for interior walls? ›

After talking to eight pro painters and analyzing the stats of over 55 different interior latex paints, we recommend the 100-percent acrylic Benjamin Moore Regal Select for interior paint needs.

Is Benjamin Moore as good as Sherwin Williams? ›

The best paint between Sherwin Williams and Benjamin Moore is Benjamin Moore, by a slight margin. In terms of paint quality, durability, coverage, and ease of application, Benjamin Moore's paint takes the cake. Indeed, their indoor paint product, Regal Select, is hands down the best interior paint on the market.

What paint do professional painters use? ›

When painting contractors seek out quality paint for their jobs, they often choose Benjamin Moore and Sherwin-Williams – two of the best selling brands on the market. Professional painters the world over have used these paints to great success for many years.

What are the different grades of Benjamin Moore paints? ›

Benjamin Moore produces four main quality levels of its interior paints. In order of ascending quality levels, they are: Super Hide, Super Spec, Regal and Aura.

What is the most popular interior paint color for 2022? ›

The most popular neutral interior paint color of 2022 is Pure White by Sherwin-Williams. This popular neutral wall color is beloved by interior designers for any room.

What are popular colors for 2022? ›

These Are the Biggest Color Trends To Keep An Eye On In 2022
  • Gray-Green. Brie Williams. ...
  • Earthy Tones. Björn Wallander. ...
  • Citron. Annie Schlechter. ...
  • Deep Aubergine. Brie Williams. ...
  • Chartreuse. Kelly Marshall. ...
  • Warm Neutrals. Thomas Loof.
18 Oct 2021

Do you need primer for Benjamin Moore paint? ›

Skipping primer may result in uneven or blotchy paint. While many of Benjamin Moore's paints are self-priming, we recommend a dedicated coat of a high-quality primer, like Fresh Start® High-Hiding All Purpose Primer. Primer is the best way to achieve a smooth finish.

What is the best paint to paint a house? ›

With a soft sheen finish and high durability, satin paint is considered the most versatile and best paint for indoor walls. It resists mildew and fading and is easier to clean than flat and eggshell finishes.

Do you need primer with Benjamin Moore advance? ›

Primer/Finish Systems

New surfaces should be fully primed, and previously painted surfaces may be primed or spot primed as necessary. For best hiding results use Benjamin Moore® Advance® Waterborne Interior Alkyd Primer tinted to the approximate finish coat color.

What sheen is best for living room walls? ›

In the living room and dining room, opt for an eggshell or satin finish. It hides flaws and imperfections — especially on uneven walls — and makes the room look more high-end, which you definitely want when you're showing your house.

Is eggshell or satin better for walls? ›

A satin finish delivers higher durability than an eggshell finish. It's scuff-resistant, making it a great choice for painting molding and walls in high-traffic areas such as living rooms, family rooms, dining rooms, kids' rooms, and entryways.

What sheen is best for bedrooms? ›

Matte Paint Is Perfect For The Bedroom.

This paint is often chosen for bedrooms, as a matte sheen is not durable enough to be heavily cleaned.

What is the most used paint brand? ›

Paints used the most by construction firms in the United States in 2018
BrandShare of respondents
Sherwin-Williams49.5%
Benjamin Moore22.4%
Behr Paint Cooperation12.1%
Kelly Moore2.8%
7 more rows
27 Jul 2022

What is the best paint in the world? ›

2022 Global Top 10: Top Paint and Coatings Companies
  • AkzoNobel.
  • Nippon Paint Holdings Co.
  • RPM International Inc.
  • Axalta Coating Systems.
  • BASF Coatings.
  • Asian Paints Limited.
  • Kansai Paint Co. Ltd.
  • Jotun.
14 Jul 2022

Do you paint walls or trim first? ›

Paint the Trim First, Then the Ceilings and Walls

That's because it's easier (and faster) to tape off the trim than to tape off the walls. And you certainly don't want to tape them both off! When painting the trim, you don't have to be neat. Just concentrate on getting a smooth finish on the wood.

What is the difference between Benjamin Moore paints? ›

Both are fast-drying, only need one to two coats of paint, and clean easily with soap and water. Regal Select has higher volume solids than Ben, making it thicker and more durable. Regal Select dries quicker than Benjamin Moore Ben. Benjamin Moore Ben has three finishes, while Regal Select offers five.

Which is best paint for interior walls? ›

Emulsion paint

Emulsion paints are water-based, making them almost odour-less and the most preferred choice for interior wall paint colours. The paint is quick drying and has a very low level of VOCs (volatile organic compounds).

What does AF mean in Benjamin Moore paint? ›

A fail-safe way to choose colors that work flawlessly with one another, Affinity® offers a palette of gorgeous colors that simplifies color selection. No matter what color you choose in the 144-color Affinity collection, any other Affinity color will work well with it.

What is the new wall color for 2022? ›

October Mist by Benjamin Moore

Benjamin Moore's pick for color of the year 2022 is a soft, silvery-green called October Mist 1495.

What is the living room color for 2022? ›

Green, grey, and navy are the most popular living room colours for 2022. New research by Swyft Home found that we are making bolder choices in our living spaces, embracing bright and rich shades, as well as some more unexpected colours.

Is grey going out of style 2022? ›

Yes, while gray has seen an uninterrupted reign over recent paint trends, its reign may conclude in 2022. However, this shift is perhaps only expected in the interiors world, as Anthony Barzilay Freund, the editorial director at 1stDibs, explains.

What color is replacing gray? ›

Brown neutrals commonly appear in spaces like living rooms where it makes sense for leather or wood furniture to be. But the experts told Insider that you can make brown work anywhere in a home if you know what you're doing.

What is the new color for 2023? ›

The 2023 color of the year is a blend of gray and beige with subtle red undertones that pair well with today's trending earth-tone paint colors. Rustic Greige wraps a room in warmth, making it perfect for kitchens, bedrooms, and family spaces alike.

What is the official color of 2022? ›

For Its 2022 Color of the Year, Pantone Has Invented a New Shade: a 'Happy' Periwinkle Blue. The new Very Peri is the "happiest and warmest of all the blue hues." Pantone's 2022 Color of the Year is Very Peri, a new shade of blue invented for the occasion. Photo courtesy of the Pantone Color Institute.

What is the color for fall 2022? ›

Just look at the color palette! Royal purple, jewel-tone teal, and burning red are all trending hues incorporated on the Fall/Winter 2022 runways, each with its glamorous style.

What are the top 5 favorite colors? ›

The most popular color in the world is blue. The second favorite colors are red and green, followed by orange, brown and purple. Yellow is the least favorite color, preferred by only five percent of people.

Are white walls out for 2022? ›

White paint offers a blank canvas for which we can make our own, and I predict white paint colors will continue to be a top choice for many in 2022." Nicole Gibbons of Clare paint expects the same.

What does OC mean in Benjamin Moore paint? ›

What do those numbers even mean? They are there telling you the color collection. So, OC is the Off-White Collection and PM is The Premium Mix Collection. Ben Moore White Dove has an LRV of 85.38. That's high up on the scale, and it's to be expected because it's a white paint color.

Is Valspar the same as Benjamin Moore? ›

To quickly recap: Valspar and Benjamin Moore have a range of interior and exterior paints, but Benjamin Moore offers more specialty paints. Valspar is available at Lowe's stores, on Lowes.com, and in local paint and hardware stores. Benjamin Moore is available at Ace Hardware and other specialty paint retailers.

What's the difference between eggshell and satin? ›

Eggshell has a lower duller sheen than satin and is close to a matt or flat finish that you find in a lot of emulsions. It is reminiscent of the shell of an egg — hence its name. Satin has a glossier finish than eggshell and reflects more light, so is more likely to show up any imperfections.

What is the most popular color for the interior of a house? ›

White is an enduring favorite with homeowners, and it's not hard to see why. "Whites can do a tremendous amount to lighten up a room, make a small space feel larger, or provide a blank canvas for any design style," explains Erika Woelfel, VP of color at Behr Paints.

What is the best interior color for a small house? ›

Homeowners with small bedrooms like to use earth tones and neutrals like gray, yellow, or green. These hues make walls visually recede into the background, highlighting the accessories in a room. White also works well in a small bedroom, but avoid using stark white since it can make a bedroom look bland.

What is the most popular Benjamin Moore white paint? ›

Chantilly Lace OC-65

Let's start with Benjamin Moore's known truest white, OC-65 Chantilly Lace. This has become a fast growing popular colour choice for a pure, bright white. This shade of white can work for trims, doors, ceilings and on occasion the walls as well.

Is PPG paint as good as Benjamin Moore? ›

Benjamin Moore had the best coverage overall, but both products spread very well. Duration is notably thicker than the other two, and as such it didn't cover in the same manner. If you're looking to stretch your budget and make the paint go farther, this makes PPG a great option.

Are Sherwin-Williams and Benjamin Moore owned by the same company? ›

There may be slight differences in one product vs another but only a professional painter could tell. Benjamin Moore stores are locally owned while Sherwin Williams stores are corporate-owned. What it really comes down to is quality. You get what you pay for and if you buy cheap paint you'll get a cheap paint job.

What's the cheapest paint brand? ›

If you're not brand loyal, then check Home Depot and Lowe's regularly for the cheapest prices on paint. Home Depot's Glidden Essentials goes for $18.98 a gallon, and Lowe's Valspar 4000 paint goes for $19.98.

What sheen is best for interior walls? ›

Flat, eggshell and satin paint are best for interior walls, whereas semi-gloss and gloss paint are best for trim and woodwork.

Which paint finish hides imperfections best? ›

The more reflective or glossy the paint sheen, the more noticeable those imperfections will be. Conversely, flat or matte finishes absorb light, helping to hide bumps and bruises. So, paint with a flat finish is the most effective paint for hiding wall imperfections.

Do designers use flat or eggshell paint? ›

Another reason why consumers and designers often favor using Eggshell or Satin paint is that they've had a bad experience with the “chalky” look that low-quality flat paints have after a few years. To avoid this, the painting professionals at Freeland Painting recommend – and use – superior grades of flat paint.

What is the prettiest shade of blue? ›

The name is YInMn blue, and in two short words, it's ridiculously stunning. YInMn, which is short for the chemicals it's made from (Yttrium, Indium and Manganese, for you chemistry lovers), was discovered by Oregon State University scientists in 2009.

What is the new blue color? ›

And now, for the first time in two centuries, a new chemically-made pigment of the celebrated color is available for artists — YInMn Blue. It's named after its components — Yttrium, Indium, and Manganese — and its luminous, vivid pigment never fades, even if mixed with oil and water.

What is one shade lighter than sea salt? ›

Spare White is one shade lighter than Sea Salt on the same color strip. It's a cool toned off-white that looks just a bit gray.

Videos

1. Benjamin Moore's top 10 trendy paint colours for 2020
(Cityline)
2. How to Paint Trim | Benjamin Moore
(Benjamin Moore Paints)
3. How to Paint Interior Walls | Benjamin Moore
(Benjamin Moore Paints)
4. Painting the Walls | Benjamin Moore
(Benjamin Moore Paints)
5. Benjamin Moore Stonington Gray
(Claire Jefford Consulting)
6. 5 PAINT COLORS WE DON'T LIKE ANYMORE!
(The Paint People)

Top Articles

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Mr. See Jast

Last Updated: 11/16/2022

Views: 5928

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (55 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Mr. See Jast

Birthday: 1999-07-30

Address: 8409 Megan Mountain, New Mathew, MT 44997-8193

Phone: +5023589614038

Job: Chief Executive

Hobby: Leather crafting, Flag Football, Candle making, Flying, Poi, Gunsmithing, Swimming

Introduction: My name is Mr. See Jast, I am a open, jolly, gorgeous, courageous, inexpensive, friendly, homely person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.